Bramah Temple, Tavanur

image

The above picture is that of the Bramah temple in Tavanur, Malappuram District, Kerala, India. This photo was taken on 8th April, 2005 by my friend Mohammed Rafeeq with my Nikon 2200 Cool pix 2 megapixel camera. At that time I was working at the  Primary Health Centre in Tavanur. I did visit the temple once while I was working there in the late 90s. However at that time the temple wore a deserted look and I was told that no Poojas were supposed to be done at a Brahma temple. I also got  information that there were very few Bramah temples in the world.

More than ten years later I  went to the same temple on 7th February, 2016 and was surprised by the changes that have taken place here. The temple now has a compound wall and also a board mentioning it’s name.  Poojas are now being conducted here and the temple has a poojari  (priest) too. I got to hear that Poojas were being conducted here regularly.
It is surprising that this temple is not mentioned on many sites in the web. Most people seem to know only about the Bramah temple in Pushkar and some in Indonesia.

The following pictures show how the temple looks today.  I personally liked the 90s image when there were no compound walls and it was less commercialized without any hundis (donation boxes).

image

image

Do visit the Bramah temple in Tavanur for prayers to Lord Bramah.

